Vehicle Purchased from Out of State Dealer

Many out of state dealers will mail us your paper work to title your vehicle in Florida.

Items needed to obtain Florida title:

  • Complete Form 82040 - Application for Title - for RVs leave Vehicle Type blank
  • Submit
    • Out of state title and bill of sale from dealer (RV-need Certificate of Origin)
    • Federal odometer disclosure from dealer
    • VIN verification by law enforcement on Form 82042 verifying they have inspected the VIN and list VIN, make, model and year of vehicle
    • If sales tax collected is the same as Florida, no additional sales tax is due
    • If you do not have a Florida Drivers License - copy of out of state license
  • Fees
    • Title transfer fee - $89.25 with lienholder, $87.75 without
    • Vehicles with purchase price < $5,000 - sales tax is 7.5% (6% + 1.5% county tax)
    • Vehicles with purchase price > $5,000 - sales tax is 6% + $75 county tax
    • Annual registration varies by weight - click here for chart + 4.70 mailing fee
    • Metal plate $28 if not transferring plate from another vehicle
    • In addition there is an initial fee of $225 if no Florida tag to transfer (not on heavy trucks or trailers)
  • Cover sheet
    • Contact number
    • Items being submitted
  • Send to:  PO Box 1843 Green Cove Springs, FL  32043 (Overnight address - 477 Houston St)
Check can be sent or we can call when paperwork received for payment by credit card (vendor charges 2.39% fee).  Tag will be mailed back to you within 2 business days of receiving your paperwork